October 30, 2010

Songs Between Cities And Waterholes ‎– Songs Between Cities And Waterholes (1993, EP, Sweden)

The project Songs Between… happened in 1992, as a stage tour and a recording. On stage and in studio, this became an exciting mixture of four independent characters. This was a unique co-operation between Chris Cutler (drums), Sten Sandell (keyboard, piano vocals), Lars “Lach’n” Jonsson (vocals, violin, percussion) and Niklas Billström (bass). The result was a music beyond borders and traditions; An expression between cultures, between ancient and modern forms. Chris Cutler is well known from his work with Fred Frith, Henry Cow, Pere Ubu, and many others. Sten Sandells music is heard on other Bauta albums. Lach’n Jonsson is also heard on many other Bauta releases. Niklas Billström has worked with different improvisation- and jazzgroups in Stockholm. The four songs on this cd-Ep are parts of live material and studiomaterial, edited and mixed at 'The Forest' during 1993 by Lach’n Jonsson. (Bauta Records).

October 23, 2010

Forgas Band Phenomena - Extra-Lucide (1999, CD, France)

Tracks List:
1. Extra-Lucide (7:07) 2. Rebirth (5:27) 3. Pieuvre à la pluie (19:26) 4. Annie réglisse (8:38) 5. Villa Carmen (4:58).
Patrick Forgas (drums), Mathias Desmier (guitar), Gilles Pausanias (keyboards), Juan-Sébastien Jimenez (bass), Denis Guivarc'h (saxophone), Mireille Bauer (vibraphone, marimba).
part 1, part 2, part 3, part 4, part 5.

October 10, 2010

Yugen - Iridule (2010, CD, Italy)

"Iridule pushes on the most abstract language derived from the avant-garde music of the Twentieth century (Ligeti, Xenakis, Nancarrow), but also on a typically rock rhythmical drive, thanks to a more aggressive drum-and-bass section and to heavier and multi-faceted sound, on the edge between Henry Cow, King Crimson and Frank Zappa, with the further novelty of the voice. You won’t miss, as in Labirinto d’acqua, great dynamical ranges, a scrupulous tymbrical research, an even more articulated and stratified rhythmical detail. Important guests as Elaine Di Falco, Dave Willey, Mike Johnson, Dave Kerman (practically speaking, the whole of Thinking Plague!), Guy Segers (Univers Zero), Michele Epifani (Areknames) and others make a kaleidoscopic and astonishing album."
listen now!