January 12, 2020

Glenn Phillips ‎– Swim In The Wind (1977, LP, Usa)

A1 Sex Is So Strange (2:23)
A2 Vanity (2:34)
A3 Druid Hill (3:03)
A4 Sleeper (3:22)
A5 Lies (3:50)
B1 Sunspoon (2:08)
B2 Creeper (4:08)
B3 Xmas Song (3:06)
B4 Josh (2:09)
B5 My Name Is Time (2:22)
B6 Lenore (3:05)

Bass – Bill Rea
Drums – Doug Landsberg
Guitar – Glenn Phillips
Keyboards – Sant Ram Singh Khalsa

Not quite the mindbomb his solo debut "Lost At Sea" was (posted here a few months back), this second solo album from ex-Hampton Grease Band axeman Phillps is still a pretty sharp set of power trio prog jams. The best bits here touch on a sorta Phil Manzanera/801 vibe and, on "Vanity" even glance off Hugh Hopper "Hoppertunity Box" territory, though the limpid and dewy pastoralism present in passing on "Lost At Sea" takes a more central role here, as do the occasional (gulp) good time-y moves. Don't let that put you off, though. There's some decidedly choice bits tucked away in these grooves. (Mutant Sounds)