June 04, 2023

Android Trio – Other Worlds (2021, CD, Usa)

1 Anger Dance 5:07
2 Concentric Lines 4:11
3 Extra Terrestrial Folk Dance 5:18
4 Miscellany B 4:23
5 Serial Tune 4:19
6 Fanfare 3:41
7 Secular Athletes 3:22
8 Open Air 2:53
9 Cryptosaur 4:47
10 Take Me 5:40
11 Water Song 4:37
12 Quark 5:07

Bass, Guitar – Eric Klerks
Drums, Percussion, Synth, Sequencer – Andrew Niven
Electric Guitar, Acoustic Guitar – Max Kutner
Guest, Baritone Saxophone – Jessica Lurie
Guest, Guitar, Keyboards, Sampler, Producer – Mike Keneally
Guest, Keyboards, Organ – Jonathan Sindelman
Guest, Trumpet – Daniel Rosenboom
Guest, Vibraphone – Gregg Bendian

Max Kutner, Eric Klerks and Andrew Niven, virtuosos all, were all also schooled in playful virtuosity, sprung rhythms, and no-holds-barred experimentation while playing in one or both of two of the great legacy bands of progressive music: The Grandmothers of Invention, who specialize in the reinvention of the Frank Zappa/Mothers of Invention repertoire, and The Magic Band, John "Drumbo" French's uncannily inspired tribute to the music of his mentor, Don "Captain Beefheart" Van Vliet. "That's how we kind of came together. We all sort of crossed paths in Australia for the first time in 2014 when there was a joint tour with the Magic Band and the Grandmothers," Kutner says. "And, you know, we were all like 'This is great, but we need to do our own thing.' We can't just play in legacy bands; we have to pay homage to the things we like by making our own stuff." Other Worlds, Android Trio's second release, is a fully fleshed out compositional statement, with intricate production strategies and an assortment of extraordinary guests.

1 comment:

centraldoprog said...