October 21, 2021

Nuova Idea – Mr. E. Jones (1972, LP, Italy)

A1 Svegliati Edgar 3:35
A2 Mr. E. Jones 3:15
A3 Viaggio Nel Mondo Dei Sogni 5:35
A4 Un'Ora Del Tuo Tempo 5:30
A5 Fumo Di Una Sigaretta 2:23
B1 Illusioni Da Poco 9:08
B2 Premio Di Una Vita 7:08
B3 Un Altro Giorno 4:00

Bass, Voice, Text By – Enrico Casagni
Drums, Timpani, Bells, Congas, Gong, Voice – Paolo Siani
Electric Guitar, Acoustic Guitar, Twelve-String Guitar, Voice, Music By – Claudio Ghiglino
Electric Guitar, Synthesizer, Voice – Antonello Gabelli
Organ, Mellotron, Synthesizer [Moog], Shaker [Sistro], Harpsichord [Clavicembalo], Piano, Electric Piano, Voice – Giorgio Usai
Producer – G.F. Reverberi, Nuova Idea

NUOVA IDEA came from Genova and their roots lie in a 60's band called ''Plep'' (from its members names). By 1970 they were renamed to NUOVA IDEA and even participated at the Viareggio Pop festival the next year, having a great success. The same year they release their debut ''In the beginning'', a decent proto-prog/psychedelic album, but not of particular interest for prog fans. After the album guitarist Marco Zoccheddu leaves to form Osage Tribe, replaced by Antonello Gabelli for the recordings of their second work ''Mr. E Jones'', released in 1972 on Ariston (as their debut), re-released on CD by the Italian Mellow Records.

Far from the familiar symphonic sound of most of the Italian prog bands of the time, NUOVA IDEA developed their early melodic style in a more intricate form, mixing their music with elaborate vocal harmonies. The closest comparisons might be early NEW TROLLS with a more demanding musicianship, 70's DELIRIUM, even BLOCCO MENTALE on their lighter side. The songs in this album differ so much, twisting from beautiful ballads (containing nice percussions and symphonic keys) and rockin' attacks with dated guitars (fuzzy-sounding at moments) to demanding instrumental passages, featuring complicated organ,delicate piano, sudden breaks and even some jazzy lines. What is of great notice is the vocal work in here, as all members contribute, resulting tons of attacks by melodic harmonies, recalling NEW TROLLS. Despite the mixed sounds, the album grows in you with each listening and all compositions are nicely executed with good melodies and a fair amount of complexity. (apps79)

1 comment:

centraldoprog said...