June 10, 2021

Atmospheres Featuring Clive Stevens – Voyage To Uranus (1974, LP, Usa)

A1 Shifting Phases 6:55
A2 Culture Release 6:50
A3 Inner Spaces And Outer Places 5:15
A4 Un Jour Dans Le Monde 4:43
B1 Voyage To Uranus 5:52
B2 Electric Impulse From The Heart 4:15
B3 Water Rhythms 8:44
B4 Return To The Earth 5:15

Written-Arranged By – Clive Stevens
Congas, Timbales, Percussion – David Earl Johnson
Drums – Michael Thabo Carvin
Electric Bass – Stu Woods
Electric Guitar, Acoustic Guitar – John Abercrombie
Electric Piano, Clavinet, Twelve-String Guitar [Acoustic 12 String] – Ralph Towner
Tenor Saxophone [Electric], Soprano Saxophone, Flute [Alto], Effects [Echoplex, Wah Wah Pedal] – Clive Stevens

Atmospheres is a project by Clive Stevens, who plays mostly pedal-effect-altered woodwind instruments, but his compadres is one of the most impressive and prestigious line-up ever in the world or JR/F, where he's probably the lesser-known individual. Indeed, not only is there Oregon's Ralph Towner (keyboards and devices) and Mahavishnu Orchestra's Billy Cobham and Rick Laird (drums & bass respectively), but also the guitar pair of John Abercrombie and Steve Khan 'can you imagine' The line-up is completed by percussionist Harry Wilkinson, and the first album was recorded in 73 and released in early 74 on Capitol with an uncommitting artwork sleeve. The result is a steaming JR/F that sometimes from improvs to dissonant free jazz, but this extreme is occasional.

A second album Voyage To Uranus was released at the end of 74, but the awesome line-up couldn't be kept, so only Towner and Abercrombie remained in anotherwise fairly different ensemble. Musically however, this second album was well within the continuation of the first album, still dishing the same red-hot fusion. Sadly that second album would signal the end of the group. Clive Stevens would not record another album as a leader until the closing of the century, when he would release two in a couple of years time. Sadly the two Atmospheres album have never (as of early '10) not receive a Cd reissue, which is a complete shame given the all-)star line-up of the first lp. (progarchives)

1 comment: